Partners for Children and Families Committee Friday, May 31, 2024, at 10:00am (CST) Brown – Heatly Public Hearing Room 4900 N. Lamar, Austin, TX 78751

MEETING MINUTES

The meeting materials and video recording of the meeting can be found at: <u>Partners for Children and Family Committee (PCFC) Meeting Archives</u> (texas.gov)

Members present:

- Jamie Bernstein
- Denise Blakney
- Robbie Callis
- Tabitha Charlton
- Chelsea Churchill
- Jenifer Jarriel
- Brandon Logan
- Michael Loo
- Mike Maples
- Katie Olse
- Michael Redden
- Tara Roussett
- Vicki Spriggs
- Ashleigh Wilkes

Member not present:

Fedora Galasso

The meeting was called to order at 10:02 am by Commissioner Stephanie Muth. Commissioner Muth will chair the meeting until the committee selects a chair.

Committee members introduced themselves, shared where they are from and what they hope to accomplish.

Members selected the length of their initial term by picking a piece of paper with a blue or red star. If they had a blue star, they have a two-year term and if it is a red star, they have a 4-year term. The results were:

- Two-Year term to expire in 2026 (blue):
 - Fedora Galasso

- Jenifer Jarriel
- o Brandon Logan
- Michael Loo
- Mike Maples
- Katie Olse
- Tara Roussett
- Ashleigh Wilkes
- Four-Year term to expire in 2028 (red):
 - Jamie Bernstein
 - Denise Blakney
 - Robbie Callis
 - o Tabitha Charlton
 - o Chelsea Churchill
 - o Michael Redden
 - Vicki Spriggs

The next item of business was to elect a chair.

Brandon Logan made a motion to have two co-chairs. The motion was seconded by Vickie Spriggs. Discussion occurred. Commissioner Muth called for a vote. Eight members voted yes. The motion carries.

Four members expressed interest in being the Chair:

- Denise Blakney
- Tabitha Charlton
- Brandon Logan
- Michael Redden

Brandon Logan nominated Jamie Bernstein.

Members did a silent ballot. Results:

Provider: Michael Redden:12 votes, Denise Blakney: 1 vote, 1 abstain Non-Provider: Jamie Bernstein: 9 votes, Tabitha Charlton: 4 votes,

Denise Blakney: 1 vote

The Co-chairs of PCFC are Michael Redden and Jamie Bernstein.

Ten-minute break

The committee reviewed the bylaws. After a discussion on the bylaws, the co-chairs directed DFPS to edit the bylaws for mention of the co-chairs and receive more feed back from the members. The bylaws were tabled until the next meeting.

Jason Steele, Director of Stakeholder and Government Relations, presented and answered questions on subcommittees.

Brian Hoover, Contract Oversight, presented and answered questions on streamlining contract oversight.

Hollie Mims, CBC Operations and Stakeholder Engagement Director, presented and answered questions on updates to Community Based Care.

Audrey O'Neill, Deputy Commissioner of Programs, presented and answered questions on children without placement efforts.

Co-chairs Jamie Bernstein and Michael Redden provided closing remarks and thanked the staff and guests.

The meeting adjourned at 12:49pm.

CONTACT: Cheryl Gomez, Council and Committee Liaison

(512) 289-7764

DFPSCouncil@dfps.texas.gov