Kinship Quarterly Strengthening Families

October 2024

SPEDTex can help!

SPEDTex provides information and resources that can help you understand your child's disability, your rights, and responsibilities under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA), and facilitate collaboration that supports the development and delivery of services to children with disabilities in our state.

https://spedtex.org/

Value Added Services

At Superior HealthPlan, members can get many great services in addition to their regular benefits. These are called Value-added Services. For questions or to learn how to get these benefits for you/your child, call Member Services at 1-866-912-6283 or visit www.FosterCareTX.com.

Care Grants-Small grants in the form of gift cards are available for members to be used for non-Medicaid covered benefits and other items up to \$50 per member, per year.

Extra Vision Services- Eligible members are entitled to receive a \$150 retail allowance for choice of upgraded eyeglass frames and lenses or contact lenses, not covered by Medicaid, once per year. The allowance does not cover additional features such as tints and coating. The member will be responsible for any charges exceeding \$150.

Over-the-Counter (OTC) Items- Up to \$30 per member every quarter for commonly-used over-thecounter (OTC) items. This benefit covers items that do not need a prescription and are not otherwise covered by Medicaid or available through DME. Members will select from a catalog of items supplied by Superior. The OTC catalog includes household, personal care, oral care, and children's items. Members can place orders online at

<u>https://www.cvs.com/otchs/superiorhealthplan</u> or by calling the vendor's toll-free number.

Please visit <u>www.FosterCareTX.com</u> for information about more value added services.



Texas Department of Family and Protective Services

Child Protective Services



Kinship Quarterly Strengthening Families October 2024

New Driver Education Funding Program

Who is Eligible?

For youth in foster care or associated with foster care, Driver Education training will be paid for by TWC for eligible youth or young adults who are:

1) younger than 18 years old and in the managing conservatorship of the Department of Family and Protective Services;

2) at least 18 years old, but younger than 21, and resides in a foster care placement, the cost of which is paid by the Department of Family and Protective Services are eligible for the program; or 3) younger than 26 years old and aged out of the Texas Foster Care system.

How to Apply

To apply for the Driver Education Program, a youth or young adult will need to choose an approved driving school. A list of TWC vendors can be found <u>here</u>. If the driving school a youth or young adults wants to go to is not on the list, email TWC and they will reach out to the vendor to see if the vendor would like to join the program.

Once a youth or young adults selects an approved driving school, they can follow the <u>TWC</u> <u>Application Instructions</u> to:

 Complete the <u>TWC</u> <u>application</u>. TWC application must be signed by the DFPS or Community Based Care (CBC) caseworker if the youth is under age 18; and Submit proof of eligibility. DFPS staff provide proof of eligibility for the program. DFPS staff must use DFPS Foster Care Verification Form 4200 or Youth or Young Adult in Foster Care Residency Verification for a Driver License or State Identification Card Fee Waiver Form 2042.

Email both documents

to <u>DriverEducationProgram@twc.</u> texas.gov.

If a youth or young adult does not have a computer, they can • go to a <u>Local Workforce</u> <u>Solutions Office</u> to get an application and/or use a computer;

• go to a local library to use a computer; or

• DFPS staff can submit an application and eligibility verification on behalf of the youth or young adult and include them in the communication to TWC.

Application Review

TWC staff will review the youth or young adult's application and notify them if they are approved within five (5) business days. If approved, TWC will send payment to the driving school within thirty (30) days. Check out the TWC website <u>TWC</u>

<u>Application Instructions</u> for additional information.

Note: Keep in mind that this program cannot pay for fees that the driving school may charge for late arrivals, no-shows, and other fees for not finishing the program within a certain time frame. Please do not make any prepayments to the driver education school.

DFPS and CBC Staff Responsibility Caregivers should contact DFPS or CBC staff to request assistance for the youth in their care with the application process when needed and provide proof of eligibility for the program (Form 4200 or Form 2042). DFPS and CBC staff must follow current policy related to driver license, driver assessment and approval prior to submitting a verification form for this program.

Questions about this program:

Texas Workforce Commission, <u>DriverEducationProgram@twc.te</u> <u>xas.gov.</u> DFPS and CBC Preparation for Adult Living (DAL) atoff

Adult Living (PAL) staff <u>https://www.dfps.texas.gov/Child</u> <u>Protection/Youth_and_Young_A</u> <u>dults/Preparation_For_Adult_Livi</u> <u>ng/PAL_coordinators.asp</u> Gaye Vopat, State Office Transitional Living Services

Team Lead, gaye.vopat2@dfps.texas.gov

Kinship Support Groups

are an important part of The Kinship Program. If you want more information about support groups in your area, please ask your Kinship Caseworker. If you want to be involved in improving the Kinship Program, consider joining the Kinship Collaboration Group, For more information on kinship support groups or becoming an advocate, please contact Deanna Dahl at deanna.dahl@dfps.texas.gov or 512-705-0433 (text capable).

"Find what brings you joy and go there." –Jan Phillips



Kinship Quarterly Strengthening Families October 2024

"Find what brings you joy and go there." –Jan Phillips